RECENT TESTIMONIALS

Belated Thank You to Dehan and Amori for exceptional support and guidance after my cycling accident in the Karoo. It was so helpful to get advice from a trusted, gifted surgeon – you are both amazing!MT and RHDecember 2022
Dearest Amori, I want to start off by saying thank you to “ Team Struwig” for the incredible manner in which you managed thewhole procedure, you guys rock! I feel amazing and happy that everything went so well.SWSeptember 2022
Sy kan nie uitgepraat raak daaroor nie en vertel vir almal dat sy by die beste, vriendelikste en hulpvaardigstedokter en praktykbestuurder uitgekom het. Ons waardeer u opreg. GroeteH en R LAugust 2022
I wanted to send an email thank you to the team which helped out today with A’s surgery. Walking into the hospital today, I expected the worst and my heart was heavy but as soon as we got to 8am (thescheduled time) and A was collected I felt that we were in good hands. It was so seemless and accommodating and heart felt. The time and explanation and warmth shown to us todayis not often seen and is greatly appreciated. Thank you for being so amazing and a calming air today.NAugust 2022
I just want to thank you for the time you took to see me today. I remain immensely grateful, always. The care you exude in your work is something I experience with so few doctors. You are exceptional people! Thank you. Have a wonderful weekend, God bless you both!WMarch 2022
Dear Dr Struwig This is just a quick note to say thank you so much for making my recent breast reduction process so much easierand more pleasant than I expected. I am delighted to have finally done it and am much more comfortable andconfident than before the op. Healing well and happy with the results!. I am also very appreciative of the quickresponses and reassurances when I sent whatsapp messages after the surgery. Please do also pass on mythanks to Sister Beryl and Amori and Debbie as well. Although I was a bit nervous for the surgery I found theexperience and subsequent stay in Vincent Pallotti interesting and comfortable, and felt very well cared for byyou, the anaesthetist (sorry, I don’t remember his name), Sister Beryl and all the ward nurses and other hospitalstaff. All in all it was a very positive experience! With best wishes to you all.BFebruary 2022
Dear Dehan and Amori G and I wanted to express our thanks to you both for the excellent care that G received during lock down. We alsoremember and appreciate the amazing care of R many years ago. Thank you also for the inspiring newsletters especially this January one. As we leave SA to return to family we wish you well.SFebruary 2022

Previous Years

B SJanuary 2021
I have just received my account covering the recent ear operation, and see that you have journalised the amountunpaid by the medical aid, as promised. Words fail me to express my gratitude to you , and the doctor, for this amazing act of kindness. All I can say is a huge THANK YOU. I have already complimented Dr. Struwig for the amazing surgery performed on my ear. He truly is a MASTER.
Dr Struwig I really felt that I needed to write this to you. Sometimes in life we are so quick to complain when we receive poor service, that I feel we should be equally eager to give credit where it is due. As you well know this pandemic has been very difficult for all of us, in various ways.. And still is… often its been difficult to see the blessings in disguise, the moments to be grateful for and the silver linings… Being referred to you by total strangers on facebook and meeting you has definitely been one of the few highlights of 2020 for me thus far. If it was not for you and your kindness and generosity, I would not have been able to remove this lipoma that had been bothering me, every single day for about 4 years. It affected my confidence as I was constantly conscious of this unwanted addition to my face and was also a concern as I wasn’t sure exactly what it was or if it would grow. I can’t thank you enough not only for making it possible for me financially (due to me not working right now) but also for the manner in which you treated me as a human being and patient. You explained everything to me in tremendous detail and in the most friendly and bubbly manner. I’ve never come across a dr so committed to a patient’s wellbeing. You had a kindness that made me feel safe and at ease from the moment we met over the phone, to the day we met in person and throughout my surgery. I felt completely comfortable, like i was engaging with friends.. safe and trusting you every step of the way. Amori is equally as wonderful and so is the rest of you rteam.. I’m forever grateful to have met you. Continue being the amazing person you are. The world needs more of your kindness. So often one feels in many fields that people do jobs with money as the main objective but one can tell you really have a love for your patients that goes beyond money. I cant stop telling people about my experience with you and I will continue todo so . That’s the impact you’ve had on me.. I pray your practice goes from strength to strength and that more people will have the privilege of experiencing your stellar services and your kind heart. Thank you. Thank you. Thank youCP
Dear Dr Struwig, I just want to thank you for the manner in which you dealt with the costs of my recent operations. Had you not discounted your fees I would not have been able to afford to have these procedures done. Prior to my operations the pain in my ear and surrounding areas had brought me to tears on a number of occasions. Touch wood, as I write to you I have no pain other than the sensitivity around the stitches. You have over the past years performed three surgical procedures that have had profound positive effect on my day to day living……. Thank you for that. In another time in my life when affordability would not have been an issue and with you having spent many years studying, your professional fees would have been worth every cent. As I moved through the years of my life, I have become aware of what I call, The web of Life, … Paths of individual lives touching each other at different times, not randomly, but obeying predestined instructions. I lived in Johannesburg for 20 years, the last four of those needing plastic surgery. I never planned the move to Cape Town until suddenly 4 months earlier when a circumstance arose that we decided to move without any trepidation, to relocate to Cape Town, and doing this at the advanced age of 79 years old. We purchased a home located less than 1 km from the Hospital, that, within 5 months I would use the services of a surgeon, to whom I had been recommended to visit by another medical professional, Whom I never knew existed, until my sister in law, was introduced to him while she attended at a social engagement. Hence my introduction to you……Good Luck ???? Coincidence ???? Or ….. “ The Web Of Life” Thanks for everythingR
Dear Dr Struwig, Amori, Sister Beryl and Kash Many thanks for all your care and hard work to make this time I could spend improving my life cheerfully and painlessly. Dr Struwig thank you for your magic in theater and sense of humor that carried me through this. It was my first time really under the knife and you made it all rather painless. Amori thank you for all your patience in describing all the procedures etc. to me initially, the texts with the healing process plus completing all the documentation from all the service providers I needed to use. It really was a lot. I truly appreciate it. To Sister Beryl thank you so much for all the care in hospital and the Drs rooms. You are a saint. My Mom and I learnt a lot from your techniques in taking care of the wounds,. To Kash and the other receptionists, thank you for your kind service always. Also for keeping me up to date with everything. It’s going to be very weird not to drive to the hospital now and come and see you all. It has been life changing and enriching. This has also given me and my Mom an opportunity to bond, in a way we haven’t done for years. So thank you so much. I will keep you posted on the further healing that will take place.J-NLAugust 2019
Good Morning, I know I can share this with you as you have been a part of my journey. Today 26.04.2019 I woke up 2 years ago with a dimple in my right breast. I wondered what that was but deep inside I knew I am in trouble (working in medical work doesn’t help). I still remember how hard it was not to be afraid. How hard it is not to withdraw from the world. How hard it is to not allow your mind to run away with you. How hard it is not to be scared to death and how hard it was to take my friends, family and doctors hands to walk this journey. Being an independent and strong woman I didn’t want to lean on anyone but I learned that you can’t push those away that wants to be there for you. On the 02.05.2019, 2 years ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer. The fear that ran through my body and mind was incredible. The decisions you have to make is overwhelming. Do you do a lumpectomy, single mastectomy or a double mastectomy. Do you do immediate reconstruction or take the reconstruction slowly. Do you fight and do chemo or do you say an operation is just enough. I still remember that Dr. Struwig was on leave the 31st of May 2017 when I had my double mastectomy and he came to visit me 5 days after my operation in Cedar Ward. I remember when he sat down with me and with his smile, gentle words and knowledge he put all my fears regarding my reconstruction to rest. I still remember him telling me to go through the chemo and when I am done he will be there for me to help me with the reconstruction. I immediately felt at ease and I knew that if anyone is going to build me boobs it will be him and only him. I did the chemo, and in May 2018 I started the reconstruction journey with such an excellent doctor and his team. I sometimes wonder why I got breast cancer but then I look at all the wonderful people I have met in these2 years and if I didn’t get cancer I would not have known they even exist. If I didn’t get cancer how am I going to educate men and woman to do their checks. If I didn’t get cancer how would I support those that do. Thank you for making me feel like a woman again. Not having breasts doesn’t define you as a person or as a woman however looking in a mirror and seeing the scars and no breasts, you can’t help but feel incomplete however with this team I can with confidence go forward and face the world. I do feel like a woman again, even though my last surgery is still to be done. Having Boobs is awesome!!!!!!!.May 2019
Hello Dr Strüwig (and associates) Dr Dehan “rescued” me from Melanoma at the end of February, 2013. I recently went through my records and was astonished to discover how quickly time has passed, five plus, soon to be six, years ago. At the recommendation of Dr Dehan, I, on returning to my corner of the woods in Queenstown, approached a dermatologist / plastic surgeon in East London, Doctor Tim Perks by name, and asked him to do the recommended “Mole-Mapping” for me at required intervals (I live in Queenstown, and East London (200km) is the closest place for specialist medical care. Dr Tim Perks seems to be very satisfied with me, because, at my last mole-mapping session on 1 October 2018 he said to me : “See you in two years’ time” (as he has done for a few years now). This surely shows how accurate and thorough the treatment I received from Dr Dehan has been. For this I am deeply, deeply, grateful, and even if I am communicating with you, Dr Dehan, after so many years, I, in my thoughts have never ceased to thank you. The life of a very dear friend of mine, the former Catholic Bishop of Port Elizabeth, Bishop Michael Coleman’s life was ended by Melanoma (he died on 17 December 2011). He had been well treated, was in remission, but it was not noticed that the melanoma had returned… and then it was too late: it had entered the brain of this dear friend of mine. In describing what had happened to me, I sometimes say to people that Dr Dehan even seemed apologetic: “I had to cut very deep,” he said, “to make sure I got everything.” Well I’d rather have a hole in my back, than be “extinguished” by melanoma. On the contrary, the “hole” in my back is a like a trophy!! “He [the doctor] did it well!!.You bet he did! Dr Dehan please receive my very, very grateful THANK YOU for what you did for me end of February, 2013 (I have even forgotten the exact day). May God bless your work. May God be praised for the kindness, the enormous expertise, the helpfulness, the cheerfulness and good humour with which He has blessed you, Dr Dehan. Yours very sincerelyFr B J RDecember 2018
Dr Dehan Ek het al verskeie kere gaan sit en dan debatteer woorde van dank en nostalgie met mekaar… Die nuusbrief was bevesting dat 2017 ‘n seisoen van ‘challenges’, keuses en baie besluite was wat nou uiteindelik weggepak kan word. Dr Dehan… dankie vir jou humor en deernis tydens my operasie (so ‘n bitter seer gebeurtenis). Jou positiewe uitkyk oor die lewe en weereens humor met elke opvolg besoek terwyl jou Professionalisme enmenswees nogsteeds hand-aan-hand loop. Die aanhaling van ‘Sheri S Bessi’ I takes just one taste of hope to turn someones upside down world right side up… In my lewe het jy presteer in jou lewensdoel… jou handewerk is ‘close to perfection’ I’m not giving up… inside-out! Be blessed…SHJanuary 2018
Thank you. Thank you for your informative newsletter. I receive many, many emails and have to point out that yours is always one that I read from beginning to end. Thank you for making the time to write these Newsletters, for making each and every patient feel like the most important patient and for being just the caring practitioners that you are! You both worked miracles on K. I still marvel when I look at her scar on her arm. I sincerely hope that your patients express their gratitude at the amazing job, passion and practice that you have. Thank you so much for making such a difference. Kindest RegardsDPJuly 2017
Hi Dr Struwig, Fantastic article, what a great way to start my Friday. I thought I should drop you quick mail just to touch base and say thank you. In late 2012, I was sitting in Blaauwberg hospital after an accident in the gym left me with a severely severed and compound fractured (wedding ring) finger. I remember it like it was yesterday, It was around 7pm on a Thursday evening. The resident Dr on shift that evening, after x-rays and inspection, advised me that due to the severe nature of said compound fracture my only option was amputation. Naturally, this isn’t something you want to hear on a casual Thursday eve, especially if you had made plans to for drinks with a gorgeous woman you’ve had your eyes on for quite some time. lol Eventually I managed to convince the Dr to call in the “big guns”, in the hopes of saving my finger even though odds were against me. After about an hour of waiting, due to you literally leaving your home and family to drive all the over to Blaauwberg hospital just to see if my finger could even be saved………. In walks Dr Struwig. After a glimpse at my finger and the Dr on call explaining my situation , you took off your jacket, sat down, and with a confident grin said to me “I’ll have you out of here in 20 min, finger intact”. The passion, precision and finesse with which you work, is superseded only by your love for sports cars. Considering I am just as car besotted and was working for BMW at the time, we had lots to talk about. Before I knew it, I was all stitched up and ready to go. Before leaving, because of the antibiotics you had given me, I cheekily asked if it would be ok to have a drink, to which your replied “have 3″….. suffice to say, DAY MADE. So Thank you Dr, you are a true master of your craft and I cannot speak highly enough of you. I trust this mail finds you well and wish you nothing but the best going forward. Have a fantastic weekend.JPdPJuly 2015
Dear Dr Struwig, at the end of April, this year, my daughter celebrated her 21st birthday. Eight years ago you inserted a prosthetic implant under the pectoral muscle, after I had my right breast removed because of cancer. To date it has given me no problems. While celebrating her birthday, I realised with gratitude that I had not only survived the operation, but have just been given the all clear for another year of health. I appreciate the time, effort and friendliness which you brought to this situation. My daughter was just entering her teens at the time, but is now a young woman in her third year of university and enjoying it. I am alive and with appreciation, and thanks, have been able to watch her growth.MPDecember 2014
I want to give a big thank you to all, Dr Struwig, Elsabe, Linda and Amori for the excellent treatment we have received thus far and for making the experience much more easier to cope and deal with. To Elsabe the biggest hug ever for always being there when I’m on a low or just feeling down even when not working. You have become my pillar of strength in the past year and no words or gifts can express what I feel and will ever be enough to say thank you. To Dr Struwig I want to say, You are the best and your humor and smile every time we see you just makes everything so much easier. I can never say enough thank you’s to you for making W your project and to always show so much care and concern and I have Faith that before you retire, (haha) that you will find a cure for W’s condition. To Amori a big thank you for always worrying about W’s education and for the encouragement to him to always give his best and not to let this keep him back and for always looking at ways as to what will work and to try anything and everything to find a cure. To Linda a huge thank you for that smile every time we enter the door and for trying to accommodate us with the appointments, as working parents it’s not always easy but you go out of your way to assist in making it convenient for us even though at times I know it’s impossible. Thank You,RHOctober 2014
Dear Dr Struwig, at the end of April, this year, my daughter celebrated her 21st birthday. Eight years ago you inserted a prosthetic implant under the pectoral muscle, after I had my right breast removed because of cancer. To date it has given me no problems. While celebrating her birthday, I realised with gratitude that I had not only survived the operation, but have just been given the all clear for another year of health. I appreciate the time, effort and friendliness which you brought to this situation. My daughter was just entering her teens at the time, but is now a young woman in her third year of university and enjoying it. I am alive and with appreciation, and thanks, have been able to watch her growth.MPDecember 2014
Allow me to thank you for everything you have done to ensure the smooth process of my surgery in Cape Town. I have safely returned to Namibia and my ear is so far doing well as I am following your guidelines exactly as discussed. A big thank you especially to Amori with all the help with my arrangements and administrative requirements, I am very grateful to you and the rest of your team who were always helpful and friendly telephonically and when I went in for my appointments in person. The level of professionalism and efficiency is well worth mentioning, as I have never come across such service inNamibia to date. Surgery is not a pleasant experience to undergo, but your practice has certainly benchmarked alevel of service that makes the experience pleasant. Please extend my sincere thanks to your team, from reception to accounts to your wound nurse Elsabe – losing my ear was traumatic, but the gift of my new ear with all its adjustments in between has changed my life and confidence forever.Welda, NamibiaNovember 2013
It has been nearly seven years since I was wheeled in as a crumbled mess into your surgery after hours. I had an accident, falling down a navel ladder. The skin on my scalp had peeled off from nape to forehead, hair and all. By some sort of miracle, you not only cleaned up the bloody mess and you stitched the skin back over my scalp, under local anaesthetic of course. The miracle continued. My hair actually grew back without changing colour. Every time I look at myself in the mirror I mean to write and thank you. Finally, this is it, complete with photograph taken recently on safari in the bushvedlt. I am now eighty three years old. Like Johnny Walker, I am still going strong?DavidJuly 2013
Dr Dehan Struwig
Opening Hours

Mon – Fri 9 am to 4 pm

X